WellsBlueSeptember2023 236


This area of the website outlines what a student is expected to learn as they move through their five "compulsory" years at The Blue School.

The curriculum is the subjects taught, the contents thereof and at which point that content will be delivered.

We serve students from ages 11 to 19:-

  • Key Stage 3 (KS3) - school years 7, 8 and 9 - ages 11 to 13
  • Key Stage 4 (KS4) - school years 10 and 11 - ages 14 to 16
  • Key Stage 5 (KS5) - school years 12, 13 (and 14) - post 16

For details of the KS5 curriculum please see the Sixth Form area of this website.

Please find below links to our Curriculum Overview and Intent Document, our KS3 and KS4 Curriculum Overview 2022/23 and our KS3 Curriculum Themes and Contents documents.

Curriculum Overview and Intent

KS3 and KS4 Curriculum 2022/23

KS3 Curriculum ThemesCurriculum core content KS3

Although an academy, The Blue School follows the principles of curriculum delivery as set out by the Department for Education (DfE).

National Curriculum